PDA

View Full Version : Misfires / primer issues

Pages : [1] 2

bdspen
05-30-2020, 04:58 PM
Hi, I'm pretty new to reloading and having some trouble with misfires and even some hang-fire on my reloads. I'm thinking the issue is with my reloads and not necessarily the rifle since I fired about 100 rounds of factory ammo and they all fired perfectly.

On my reloads I would say about 1 in 5 are misfires and 1 in 10 are hang-fire.

Looking at the misfired primers, the primers have a real nice dent in them so it seems they should have fired....

The rifle is a custom savage axis chambered in 223 wylde.
I am using federal 205m gold medal match small rifle primers, IMR 4895 and lake city brass that I bought once fired.
During reloading I full length resized each case, trimmed, removed the primer crimp, cleaned the primer pockets and seated the primers with a lee ram prime. It felt like they were seating fully and firmly. I checked every case for proper headspace with the wilson case gauge.

After the first few misfires I dissasembled and cleaned my bolt and firing pin, but still getting the same frequency of misfires.

I have also tried re-firing the dud rounds but none of them went off after up to 3 more attempted firings.

What do you all think might be the issue? What should I try next?

celltech
05-30-2020, 05:50 PM
Could be a bad batch of primers...look at them carefully and make sure they have their anvils and a good amount of primer mixture in them. I also know when I have tried removing primer crimps it seems like the primers are hard to insert, want to go in at an angle, etc....just a real pain. So maybe try some in new or non-crimped brass.

bdspen
05-30-2020, 06:12 PM