PDA

View Full Version : Brass Vs Nylon Barrel Brush

Totosdad
05-04-2020, 10:47 AM
I am by no means a weapons expert, I just saw two video's on rifle cleaning.

First "Expert" said a brass brush will not harm your barrel.

Second "Expert" said to only use a nylon brush because a brass one will harm the barrel.

Sure would like to get some thought's on both

Thank's

Stumpkiller
05-04-2020, 11:48 AM
I prefer bronze brushes (lately been buying BoreTech products) - pushed and pulled in only one direction (from the breech end) while they are in the bore (that is - don't reverse it while compressed in the bore).

Rather than relying on a lot of mechanical scrubbing I use Barnes CR-10 occasionally to remove copper fouling.

Whether "more aggressive" is "too aggressive" I can pretty much assure you that if you ever shoot unjacketed lead bullets (rifle or pistol) you either use bronze/brass brushes or you have a leading problem. You can probably harm your bore equally with Nylon if you don't use some care. A one-piece rod is a great investment

Rob01
05-04-2020, 04:59 PM
I have only ever used bronze brushes on all my match rifles and all have been very accurate. Not changing direction in the bore is good advice. I push mine down from the chamber through the bore guide and once they completely exit the muzzle I slowly pull back in until brush is in bore and then pull it back. Going to keep doing it no matter what any "experts" say as I trust my own experience. ;)

sharpshooter
05-04-2020, 05:23 PM
I am by no means a weapons expert, I just saw two video's on rifle cleaning.

First "Expert" said a brass brush will not harm your barrel.

Second "Expert" said to only use a nylon brush because a brass one will harm the barrel.

Sure would like to get some thought's on both

Thank's

The first expert was right......the second expert is not an expert.

hamiltonkiler
05-04-2020, 06:16 PM
Where to start. Ok.
I grew up never thinking about it. Many rifles and bullets later.