PDA

View Full Version : DBM questions

Pages : [1] 2

PappaSmurf
03-22-2020, 01:27 PM
So I am new to the bolt action realm and am kinda confused on the whole Detachable Box Magazine thing.
I am currently awaiting my "delay" process to be over. I purchased an Axis 2 in 6.5 creedmoor with a bull barrel in ATACS camo. It came with some kind of scope so I was happy about that, but that is the extent of my knowledge on the rifle so far. I plan on setting it out to about 300-400 yards.

My main concern with it tho, is the 4 round mag. I have seen the 10 round mags have been made but cant seem to find any available. I also have seen people that are modifying some to make it higher capacity.

I am inquiring as to the DBM, is it as simple as buying one in a short action and throwing it on and then getting some AICS mags? OR, would it be more feasible to just buy some regular stock mags and then modify them?

Thanks for any advice and information that you can spare.
-Smurf-

charlie b
03-22-2020, 02:22 PM
https://www.snydermags.com/

This is the only place that I know of that makes higher cap mags for the Axis.

PappaSmurf
03-22-2020, 03:13 PM
Charlie,
Thanks for the link. I did see those but at 115 bucks for a magazine??? GRANTED IT IS handmade and seems of durable quality but I'm thinking not so much for me.

charlie b
03-22-2020, 05:02 PM
When you consider the cost of a Savage mag is around $50 and the cost of a G3 mag, $100 isn't bad.

Robinhood
03-22-2020, 05:37 PM
Detachable magazine upgrades are not cheap.

PappaSmurf
03-22-2020, 11:35 PM
When you consider the cost of a Savage mag is around $50 and the cost of a G3 mag, $100 isn't bad.

I do understand that, but I'm thinking long term...I'm thinking of going with a different stock and then maybe possibly a chassis system later on down the road...then all mags would carry over. If that made any sense.

PappaSmurf
03-22-2020, 11:37 PM
Detachable magazine upgrades are not cheap.

Robin hood, so I have found out. Lol