PDA

View Full Version : New to High Power Rifles.

Woodsman
01-30-2020, 09:35 AM
Hey Guys,

I’m new to high powered rifles. I’ve searched long and hard for what caliber I want to get. I’ve searched long and hard and bounced around between a few different cartridges. I’ve fully decided on the 7mm rem mag. At first I wanted the savage 110 Storm, but I really like the look of the savage 116 TH XP. I believe the 116 has pillar bedding, whereas the 110 has an aluminum bedding. I’ve read that the 116 stock is a bit flimsy.

Is one type of bedding better than the other?

Why is the Trophy hunter with a Nikon scope cheaper than the Storm?

Forgive me if this has been covered in a previous thread. I’m not the greatest at navigating through forums or trying to find specific answers to specific questions. Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Swissfan
01-30-2020, 10:02 AM
The Storm has the accufit stock the 116 does not. The accufit stock has the aluminum bedding block the 116 just has the pillars. The stock on the 116 will be a bit more flimsy than the Storm. The difference in the stock will account for the price difference.

Woodsman
01-30-2020, 10:21 AM
Does the type of bedding and flimsy stock make a difference in accuracy?

Dave Hoback
01-30-2020, 10:44 AM
My opinion is but the lesser expensive. If this hobby is for you, you are ultimately going to want to replace the stock at some point in the future anyway. Although I can’t say the extra money for the Accufit stock would be a waste for you. You may find it’s perfect for your needs.