PDA

View Full Version : Bullet seating depth

Mr.Snerdly
01-11-2020, 03:13 PM
On my reloads I started off .030" off the lands, went to .025" then to .015" I haven't shot the .015" yet and need advice. They say the depth of seating in the brass should be approximately the diameter of the bullet. I thought I had them deep enough but upon actual measurement I found out they weren't. Even the .030" off the lands wasn't deep enough. Is it absolutely necessary to have them seated to the depth of the caliber diameter? This is a 223 with a 52 grain bullet. Maybe a heavier bullet would have more depth with the same distance from the lands. I am completely new at all this and need lots of advice. This is the 223 with the 1:9 twist so I think a heavier bullet would work.

6mmBR_Shooter
01-11-2020, 03:47 PM
With a short 52 grain bullet in a factory chamber I'm thinking you're going to have a hard time getting seating depth close to the lands. If chasing lands in that rifle, you may need to up the bullet to upwards of a 68/69. That may still not be long enough for you. Your best bet may just be to find a jump tolerant bullet in the lighter weights.

CFJunkie
01-11-2020, 04:13 PM
6mm BR Shooter is right.
Light bullets just aren't long enough to seat out far enough to get close to the lands in most .223 rifles.

I have two .223 bolt actions and even when new, a 52 grain bullet was just about out of the neck of the brass before it got close to the lands.
The bullet body that touches the rifling on a Sierra 52 gr SMK #1410 is under 0.39 inches when you take the boat tail out of the measurement. The entire bullet is only 0.710.
Even a flat base 53 gr SMK #1400 has only about 0.020 more bullet body touching the lands with a bullet length of 0.714.
A 69 SMK #1380 has about 0.440 touching the lands when you subtract the boat tail with a bullet overall length of 0.913. An extra 0.2 inches makes a lot of difference.