PDA

View Full Version : What to do

Pages : [1] 2

Mr.Snerdly
01-04-2020, 07:01 PM
I am new at reloading and I realize now this was a mistake. I bought some new Lapua brass and some high grade bullets since I want maximum accuracy. I went to shoot today and they will chamber but it takes some pressure to close the bolt. I now know you should full length resize new brass. I don't have a bullet puller and will ruin the bullets if I pull them out with what I have to work with. What would happen if I shoot them? I don't want to run into more trouble from trying to save money. I am thinking maybe the brass could get stuck and I would have far bigger expense to correct rather than lose the money on either the bullets of bullet puller. I doubt this would make any difference but it is a 223 with a 52 grain bullet.

sharpshooter
01-04-2020, 07:10 PM
It could be that the seating length is too long, jamming the bullet into the throat. Look for marks on the bullet.

Mr.Snerdly
01-04-2020, 07:17 PM
I thought of that. I didn't really think that was the case since I believe the amount of tension between the bullet and neck would be easily overcome by chambering the round. Even though I figured it was the brass I took some once fired brass and loaded a bullet (without powder, naturally) to the same dimension as the one that was hard to chamber. It chambered just fine so I am positive it is the brass.

NicfromAlabama
01-04-2020, 08:56 PM
If you know it is the brass, I don't see how it would be a problem to shoot as long as you can can close the bolt. I have loaded new brass many times without sizing and never had a chambering problem. I pretty much use Lapua brass and I always load it straight from the container. I check length is all. It is probably just a tad larger than your chamber and resulting in a heavy bolt. Just my 2 cents.

Ted_Feasel
01-04-2020, 09:12 PM