PDA

View Full Version : Cerakote or Duracoat

8mm RUM
01-03-2020, 10:25 AM
You can get them both in an air-dry form, which is the way I would go.
Both are applied with air and are similar in cost.
The Duracoat sounds a bit "Softer" and a bit simpler in the application.
Both have colors I like and can be applied over plastic as well as steel. Which one would you try and why?:confused:

snowgetter1
01-08-2020, 01:14 PM
I have no experience with Ceracoat. I do have a lot of experience with Duracoat and KG Gunkote. I found on my two go to duck/goose guns which both saw very hard use, that DURACOAT is really not any better than regular spray paint. This was probably about 8 years of use one being duracoat and one spray paint. Nearly equal wear on barrel and actions. Neither duracoat or spray paint is very scratch resistant. I have since repainted the metal with kg guncoat and it is definitely tougher. I have abandoned duracoat because of the cost and just use regular spray paint. If you get a good two part automotive clear coat it does wonders on preserving your paint. That is the same stuff they spray over hydrodip. If your gun will not see real hard use any of your choices will work.

jkv45
01-08-2020, 03:06 PM