PDA

View Full Version : C.O.A.L.???

skyking897
04-07-2019, 08:06 PM
I'm very new to reloading, in fact, I've only reloaded 15 rounds of 45-70 gov't. Done a fair bit of reading and watched countless videos on the subject and everyone seems to gloss right over the cartridge overall length. I understand you don't want to be longer but what are the consequences of being shorter. I trimmed the 30-06 cases to the proper length 2.494" and used a 150gr. jacketed bullet (boat tail I believe it's called). When seating the bullet to COAL 3.340" the crimp groove (can't remember proper name) is no where near the end of the brass. I seated one round to the groove and it measured 3.204". That's 0.136" shorter than specs. Did I use the wrong bullets, am I doing something wrong or is it ok to be shorter?

Stumpkiller
04-07-2019, 09:05 PM
The only concerns of shorter are, depending on the action, feed issues. Unless you are crimping the crimp groove can be ignored.

The maximum COAL is a handy benchmark for ammunition and firearm makers - but you can be under or over. It's one dimension to tweak for best performance with a given bullet.

And sometimes you do want to be longer than COAL; or at least can be. Chamber throat and jump to the lands may favor less bullet in the case.

Robinhood
04-07-2019, 09:12 PM
Different bullets will have a different COAL. A 150 grain will almost always have a shorter COAL than say a 180. Most Reloading manuals that list your bullet will give you the suggested COAL. COAL is a little more complicated than one length for all bullets in a given cartridge. Guys looking for extreme accuracy work with a different measurement, CBTO Cartridge Base To Ogive. First one needs to know where the lands are. Then they will make adjustments to put the bullet ogive the desired distance from lands. Most hand loaders load it to the manufactures suggested seating depth.

Marine
04-08-2019, 07:37 PM