PDA

View Full Version : Flash hole deburring

DesertDug
03-07-2019, 03:58 PM
How important of a step is deburring case flash holes? Does this improve groups?

I have never done it in my short history of reloading, do I need to start if chasing groups?

kurusty
03-07-2019, 04:12 PM
I only do it once, then never check them again. This is only for my target/precision ammo, not fun stuff. I'm not an expert, just my opinion for what works for me..

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk

DesertDug
03-07-2019, 04:14 PM
Ya, as I understand, it is a one and done type of thing.

kurusty
03-07-2019, 04:19 PM
I'm sure that if you ask bench rest shooters, you'll get a different answer [emoji3]

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk

CFJunkie
03-07-2019, 04:22 PM
DesertDug,

It depsnds upon how the brass was manufactured and how the flash hole are formed.

Some of the cheap brass I used when I first started reloading had burrs and I trimmed those, mostly because people said it would help.

Honestly, when I was still using cheap brass, I probably wasn't shooting accurately enough to notice any difference.
My technique variations were masking a lot of reloading variations so I never noticed a difference.

I don't bother now because I use Lapua brass and I've never seen burrs on their flash holes.
Apparently, they form the flash holes without creating burrs.
But now that I learned much better technique, both in shooting and in reloading, I am shooting Lapua brass exclusively and I don't need to worry about flash hole burrs.

Does it make a difference in accuracy?

The only really accurate rifle that I shoot both Lapua and Federal brass in is my Les Baer Super Varmint .223.
I see very little difference in accuracy due to brass but the Federal Brass doesn't last as long as the Lapua.
I have gotten out of the habit of cleaning up flash hole burrs and I don't do it with the Federal brass.
But the results say it makes very little difference in accuracy, if any.