PDA

View Full Version : Trying to bed a Model 10

Pages : [1] 2

Inky Doc
10-04-2018, 04:31 PM
I’m trying to bed a Model 10, .243 Win., 2nd Gen, ser#G415XXX, stagger-fed, that I bought new in 2005. This is my first attempt at bedding any weapon and I had intended to pillar and then glass bed. I came across some place saying it comes already pillar bedded from the factory, there were pics that to my untrained eye looked just like the innards of my rifle. Can anyone shed some light on this please?

Also, is there a kit that someone would recommend for my Savage? I’ve seen plenty of info on general bedding but nothing specific for this particular Savage. Thank you for your time and patience.

https://i.postimg.cc/rpTFtPwH/46097156-_EDF2-499_F-_A3_D0-_A0489_F8316_D8.jpg (https://postimg.cc/DSCK95sQ)
https://i.postimg.cc/YCYC0HMg/8_EBEEDC7-9_DD1-4_AB9-9_C31-_C979_ECDEA257.jpg (https://postimg.cc/Js7LYSy4)

joeb33050
10-04-2018, 04:58 PM
I've got a M10 and M12. and can see NO reason for bedding. If the barrel is free floating and the tang doesn't touch the stock, the guns with a dozen different barrels shoot < 1" 5-shot 5 group averages all day. I've never read a report where bedding a Savage in a pillar bedded plastic stock made an accuracy difference. 9/24/18 the Striker averaged .650" 5-shot 5 groups 100 yards.
joe b.

sharpshooter
10-04-2018, 09:42 PM
Don't waste your time bedding a tupperware stock. They don't have a bedding problem, they have a flimsy problem.

DesertDug
10-05-2018, 07:57 AM
Looks like it has pillars already.

squirrelsniper
10-05-2018, 08:24 AM