PDA

View Full Version : drop in barrel

parkj5
09-30-2010, 09:47 AM
ok im looking at doing a custom barrel on the 112 bvss i have. it has a 300 winn mag barrel on it at the moment.im try to deside a few thing and would like someone elses Opinion .i am thinking maybe 25-06 ai. or 257 weatherby mag.i will be using a shilen barrel i am sure.my question is this im new to the custom rifle thing and have few questions on it.i see where shilen has a drop in replacement barrel for my savage.my smith will not use a pre chambered or fitted barrel and will not use the barrel nut he said the conventional recoil lug is more accurate.what are your Opinions on this as i dont have clue. i will be punching paper more than hunting with it.thanks.

trappst
09-30-2010, 10:02 AM
Sounds like you need to find a different smith. Buy a barrel, get the tools needed and do the swap yourself.

Your smith is feeding you a line of crap in order to get deeper into you pocket.

Check the site sponsors for barrels and other stuff.

sinman
09-30-2010, 10:09 AM
Either your smith doesn't know what he's talking about or he just wants more money. You can easily do the swap your self and your gun will probably out shoot ones that he builds anyways

drybean
09-30-2010, 10:26 AM
+1

lucy123
09-30-2010, 11:35 AM
I agree with sinnman. I Put a barrel on my savage 110 in 308 I' m getting .125'' groups with it.

tammons
09-30-2010, 11:52 AM
He is feeding you a line of Crapola.

Geez, my plain Jane 6mmBR, unbedded mind you, would shoot 3/4" groups at 300 yards
with an off the shelf Shilen barrel from midway.

My old 223 VLP factory rifle would shoot 1/4" at 100 yards all day long with the right load.

You bolt on a Shilen barrel yourself up against his nutless premium mucho $$$ job
and you will see zero difference in accuracy.

If you really want a super accurate barrel job, you should have your action
T+T and then send it to Kreiger and let them fit a barrel. If you want something inherently accurate,