PDA

View Full Version : Bumping the shoulder question...

Pages : [1] 2

mbohuntr
03-11-2018, 06:38 PM
I'm still learning the tricks, so this might be a silly question... If I have several rounds thru some brass, and it has probably stretched and started to get hard to close the bolt.

Can I anneal it, measure it's overall length with calipers, and full length size it checking the overall length until it shrinks a couple of thousandths? I would check the overall length and trim if necessary afterwards...

Thanks!

Texas10
03-11-2018, 08:50 PM
Cartridge OAL and base to shoulder are not the same. OAL is important because you don't want the mouth of the cartridge to jam in the throat of the chamber. This can cause a pinched bullet and possible chamber rupture upon firing. Base to shoulder dimension is important for chamber fit, and brass life/growth, and a too loose fit will cause misfires. You DON'T want to stretch your brass a whole lot every time you cycle it, it'll soon split. I recommend you buy the gages and learn to set up your dies properly for good fit, function, and case life. Sorry, but anything else is just a waste of your time and money, IMOP.

Robinhood
03-11-2018, 09:49 PM
Good advice there. Annealing is part of the quest for consistent accuracy.

Stumpkiller
03-11-2018, 10:14 PM
I never bother to anneal. But I do outside trim necks. It depends on your cartridge shoulder angle, load intensity, and maybe even your individual chamber.

If your cases don't requite trimming to length after 15 reloads then annealing probably isn't worth the bother.

I find my primer pockets get loose and I disguard cases before annealing would have been worthwhile.

Robinhood
03-12-2018, 12:10 AM
I never bother to anneal. But I do outside trim necks. It depends on your cartridge shoulder angle, load intensity, and maybe even your individual chamber.

If your cases don't requite trimming to length after 15 reloads then annealing probably isn't worth the bother.