PDA

View Full Version : New to 6.5 CM Advice

Pages : [1] 2

SouthernStyle
02-12-2018, 05:34 PM
Hey Guys,

Purchased my first rifle in 6.5 CM with the most recent Cabela's Savage 12FV deal.

I have no experience with 6.5CM. If you can humor me, based on your experience, what would you recommend starting out with regarding brass, bullets, powder, etc if the objective is pure group size, 100-400 yards? This is strictly a range gun to play with and no competition. Might occasionally try to ring steel at longer distances for fun. Plan is to bed the current stock and eventually upgrade to an after-market stock if warranted.

For you guys with extensive 6.5 experience, what would your top 2 or 3 recommendations be for a 6.5 CM newby like myself for each:
1) Brass
2) Small Primer or Large?
3) Bullet weight and brand
4) Powder (I have Varget, IMR 4350, IMR 4895, H380 on-hand at moment)

Will initially set it up with EGW base, Burris XTR rings and throw a Nitrex TR2, 3-15x42 (same as Weaver GS) just because I have it laying around.

(Yes, I understand that each gun is unique, results will vary, etc. Just looking for best recommendations for a starting point.)

Thanks for any feedback!

SageRat Shooter
02-12-2018, 05:49 PM
6.5 Creed Brass: Lapua is the best, Norma, then Hornady as I rate it. Others may differ. I use large rifle primers (I shoot a 260 Rem) Bullets: Berger, Sierra, and Hornady are my 3 suggestions. I'm using the 143 Hornady ELD-X in my 260 as it is a hunting round, but the ELD-M (match) bullets come in a 130, 140, and 147 grain weight. Powder: H4350, IMR 4350, R-17, R-16, R-26, H4831 (R stand for Reloader) all work well, but you have to decide which one your rifle likes best.

But these should get you a starting point.

SouthernStyle
02-12-2018, 06:04 PM