PDA

View Full Version : Which trigger?

kimbrell224
01-31-2018, 08:03 PM
I want to do something with the trigger on my 6.5 Axis. It’s 3.75lbs from the factory but I don’t like the travel. Should I go with Timney, Rifle Basix or a modification of the OEM? I’m totally new to all this.

J.Baker
01-31-2018, 08:27 PM
Is this an AccuTrigger Axis or a standard trigger Axis? Kinda makes a difference...

kimbrell224
01-31-2018, 08:50 PM
Is this an AccuTrigger Axis or a standard trigger Axis? Kinda makes a difference...

It’s a standard trigger

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

drybean
01-31-2018, 09:01 PM
RB trigger is the best upgrade

Swissfan
02-01-2018, 09:21 AM
I tried the suggestions on polishing the factory trigger on my Axis, it helped a lot, but I ended up putting the RB on it and was glad that I did. I don't have a Timney, but may put one on my other Axis just to try it. I think you will be pleased with the RB or Timney.

kimbrell224
02-01-2018, 09:24 AM
So, what does the polishing do?

DrThunder88
02-01-2018, 11:49 AM
Polishing can help to reduce grittiness, and grittiness sometimes makes decent triggers feel worse.

I like shimming the trigger (https://youtu.be/gJijTbWe2wA?list=PL6mstF7_2-gm3WnoBZZ1QLpjIeoFWXqg9), but go with whatever you feel your level of technical proficiency is as well as the tools and supplies you have. A drop-in unit like the Rifle Basix trigger is an excellent choice as well.

SageRat Shooter
02-01-2018, 02:19 PM
are you wanting to keep the original trigger in factory form? I have the same version of the Axis as you, but in 22-250. I snipped coils off the trigger spring on mine (voids warranty) but I knew I wasn't returning it to Savage or having them do any work on it. I started with snipping 1.5 coils off the spring. I worked it down slowly and now my Axis trigger breaks sooner and easier then my AccuTrigger does on my 111 which is turned all the way down.