PDA

View Full Version : Questions about 12 VLP

DaveA009
01-02-2018, 10:34 PM
Greetings and Salutations,
I have zero experience with Savage products. My knowledge has recently been acquired by reading reviews. I am strongly considering the purchase of a new Savage Model 12 Varmint Low Profile rifle chambered in the .243 Winchester cartridge. This rifle will be my prairie dog rifle. Thus, I am trying to sort out various ideas and details about this rifle:
What is the meaning of the phrase “Low Profile”?
Does the rifle use two or three screws to hold action and stock together?
Can this rifle be bought new from the factory as a single shot, without a magazine cutout on the underside of the action, thus, increasing the rigidity of the action?
Can this new rifle be equipped at the factory with the Target AccuTrigger which is adjustable between 6 ounces and 2.5 pounds? Would this idea be desirable?
Is there a meaning or an idea attached to the phrase “Heavy Barrel” that I may not be aware of?
Last Question:
Go to “savagearms.com (http://savagearms.com)".
Click on “Firearms” (Top, Left of screen)
Click on “Centerfire Rifles”.
Click on PRIMARY PURPOSE”
Click on “Varmint Hunting”.
Click on “CALIBER”
Click on “243 WIN”.
Click on “12 Varmint Low Profile”.
Scroll down to “PRODUCT VIDEOS”.
Click Three Times on the Right Pointing Arrow.
(Arrow Located on right side and)
(midway between top and bottom)
The name of the video is “Factory Blueprinted Actions”
Even though this video will not play,
Is the action of this rifle actually Factory Blueprinted?
Previously, I did e-mail these questions to Savage and I did not receive any answers. I called and was told that there is only one employee answering e-mails. “Be patient” I was told.
Dave

BB68
01-02-2018, 11:58 PM
IDK what low profile means. 2 screw, no on solid bottom action, it does have the 2.5-6 lbs trigger, heavy barrel is just typical heavy varmint taper.

Tackdriver
01-03-2018, 12:31 AM