PDA

View Full Version : Decisions

Romero14
10-23-2017, 03:45 PM
So I've been thinking of getting a new rifle and savage has the rebates going on the model 11/111. I currently have a model 116 in 25-06 as well as one in 270. The 270 is the older preaccutrigger model. I bought the 25-06 two years ago. I was wanting a 6.5 creedmoor. Then I started thinking about a 280 or 280 Ackley improved which had me thinking about a replacement barrel for my old 270. I'm a newbie to the custom world. The most I've done is get Boyds stocks. I'm not sure which route to take. Either buy a creedmoor or 280 or 280 AI barrel. The gun will mainly be used for hunting.

SageRat Shooter
10-23-2017, 03:54 PM
I took my brand new .270 Win and tore it apart just for the action. I then put a CBI 260 Rem Match barrel on it and have been very happy with it... I'm a lefty, so my option for what I wanted were "slim to none", so that's why I went this way (wanted a long action, so I wouldn't have any issues feeding from the mag even when seating the ELD-X bullets out long... my COAL is 2.933) as the 11/111 platform was my only option as a lefty.

The 6.5 Creed will work, but you may have a little more of a feeding issue from the mag then the 260 does....

lonestardiver
10-23-2017, 03:55 PM
I have several questions for you...
Do you handload or desire to ? If not then the 280 AI is off the list since its availability will be limited or you have a source.
What do you intend to hunt and at what distance do you normally shoot at ?
With the 280 and the 6.5 creedmoor you can find ammo more readily.
Now the bate is 7mm projectile vs. 6.5 mm projectile and velocities you gain from each cartridge. What has the better bullet for the game intended and at the distance you plan to hunt at ?

Romero14
10-23-2017, 04:26 PM
If I bought the creedmoor then it would stay untouched except a new stock, scope and rings.