PDA

View Full Version : SAVAGE 10 PREDATOR HUNTER 223 REALTREE MAX 1 in 223 REM in my future?

Ardsley
09-10-2017, 08:17 PM
Hello! I'm new to all this, and, in fact, have never owned a centerfire rifle. I did, of course, "borrow" an M-14 from the US Army for a tad, but that was ages ago. Anyway, as I approach my retirement, I'm seriously considering the purchase of a centerfire rifle to play with at the range, and to go varmint hunting with my grandson. To that end, I need some advice.

I'm looking at the 204 Ruger and the 223 Remington calibers. I've chosen those because they have a lighter recoil, and, most important, I have found them in left-handed rifles. I guess I should have mentioned that! I've always had a right-handed bolt (the latest being a Ruger K77/22 VBZ), but I feel I deserve a southpaw rifle.

So here's what I found: RUGER M77 HAWKEYE in 204 RUGER, and a SAVAGE 10 PREDATOR HUNTER 223 REALTREE MAX 1 in 223 REMINGTON. I've had a lot of very good experiences with Rugers (I still own 5 at this writing), and have no experience with Savage (though I've heard good things about them, and Savage is very lefty-friendly). I will use it mostly for targets and I haven't tried reloading. The Ruger is $500, and the Savage is $550 after a rebate. I keep looking at that Savage....

What are your thoughts? Also, what glass would you add to this? Thanks!

RustyShackle
09-10-2017, 10:24 PM
First, welcome to the forum.

Second,
My choice would be a 223 of some flavor. Are you set on getting the realtrea max 1? IMHO there are other Savage rifles that would be easier on the wallet and should be every bit as accurate, and might be better suited for your purposes.

Heavy barrel rifles, while heavy, make varmint plinking and bench work paper punching a pleasure. Not ideal for strolling around with so much though.