PDA

View Full Version : New guy from Ohio

Rayzzr
06-25-2017, 08:59 AM
Hi all, new guy from Western Central Ohio, born and raised in Alabama. Just bought a Savage FCP-SR in 6.5 Creedmoor the day before Father's Day and I am looking forward to shooting it (no glass yet). My other hobbies are sport bikes, homebrewing, hiking, hunting and trap shooting.

I am new to distance shooting, so this opens up a new ballgame for me. I can't deer hunt in OH with the new iron, straightwall cartridge only...but I can hone my distance shooting skills and get ready for my next round of hog hunting in Texas. I can also nail some Yotes with it.

Fwiw, I went to the store to get a Rem700 .308, as I shoot Rems in trap/sporting clays and thought that is what I wanted. For various reasons I walked out with the 10FCP-SR in 6.5

drybean
06-25-2017, 11:16 AM
Great choice & Welcome aboard

ttexastom
06-25-2017, 02:10 PM
Welcome to brothers of the barrel nut, you will love the 6.5.

J.Baker
06-25-2017, 07:57 PM
Welcome to the site! What part of west central Ohio?

Rayzzr
06-26-2017, 09:46 AM
Welcome to the site! What part of west central Ohio?

Just North of Dayton in the St Marys area. Looking for a decent place to try some long range shooting with the new iron. Our local gun club only has a 100yrd range. I think the Lima SABRES club has a 300yrd one, but only members are allowed to use it (or so I have been told). A buddy told me that there are rumors of a 1000 yard range being built somewhere in or around Cridersville.

ragsflh
06-26-2017, 11:41 AM
howdy

Phranque
06-26-2017, 06:44 PM
Welcome from a fellow Buckeye south of Dayton. A 1000 yd'er would be nice within an hour if that were true.... :thumb:

J.Baker
06-28-2017, 07:52 AM