PDA

View Full Version : 308 full length sizing issue

Pages : [1] 2

trentcwwilson
04-30-2017, 12:00 PM
I'm still fairly new to reloading 308 and I've run into an issue with my die. I'm getting massive dents in the cases at the start of the shoulder as well as some denting on the shoulder such as what you get by necking down cases to a smaller bullet. I get the latter whole necking down 30-06 brass to 6.5-06 before hydro forming to 260 Dingo specs. What could be some issues I'm running into? This is NOT AR used brass. It's PPU that I received from a Canadian PRS shooter who's ammo was confiscated at the border due to a screw up on his paperwork. It was once fired in his gun, and was deprimed, sized, then wet tumbled with SS media for 3 hours to ensure completely clean brass. I'm assuming it's because it's cheap PPU. I've reloaded their 38 Special cases before and I know how quickly they lose primer pocket strength.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170430/d745d43568d4c1148ccc5f783ec30f44.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170430/6b88fba45e5c8156c87252439ea3c43f.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170430/44475ca2b81830d0f0be23466294274e.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170430/601defc9688182e34debf1560bb967a1.jpg

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

Phranque
04-30-2017, 12:08 PM
See below... likely #2

http://www.shootingtimes.com/reloading/10-common-reloading-mistakes/

trentcwwilson
04-30-2017, 12:12 PM
See below... likely #2

http://www.shootingtimes.com/reloading/10-common-reloading-mistakes/
Not a lube issue. I'm using Royal Purple synthetic just like I have for the last 10 years with no issues in .223, .458 SOCOM, 300WM, and 416 Barrett. I'll mention I'm using Redding 84155 307/308 dies. Got away from Lee and I'll never go back.

Deadshot2
04-30-2017, 01:08 PM
If it's not a lube issue another possible cause is the case is work hardened and won't yield evenly to the sizing pressures.