PDA

View Full Version : Headspacing after recoil lug changed?

Dantheman
03-24-2017, 10:48 AM
I have a 11vt in 308 that is not grouping very well. I am debating on switching the stock for an Accustock. I believe I can complete this swap if I change the recoil lug. The barrel removals and install seem straight forward, but will the headspacing need to be checked after replacing the lug(same bolt and barrel)? Thanks in advance.

joeb33050
03-24-2017, 11:20 AM
You can't change the lug without setting the headspace.

olddav
03-24-2017, 11:22 AM
I would say "Yes", it is the safest way to go.
You may be able to index the barrel before you remove it but I have no experience along those lines.

olddav
03-24-2017, 11:25 AM
Joeb33050 is headspacing without a go or nogo gauge. It is a valid option (as if he needs my approval) but does require more of a feel.

hereinaz
03-24-2017, 12:26 PM
Deleted stupid brain fart answer...

I can't remember how to tie my shoes sometimes...

You will have to pull barrel completely, because the barrel nut won't thread off barrel towards muzzle... so, only way off for lug is chamber side of barrel... DOH

Dantheman
03-24-2017, 12:59 PM
Thanks for the info. Exactly what I needed to know.

hereinaz
03-24-2017, 02:14 PM
You are welcome.

short round
03-24-2017, 04:34 PM
Your going to have to remove the barrel & set head space, no other way to change lug.

hereinaz
03-24-2017, 06:02 PM
Your going to have to remove the barrel & set head space, no other way to change lug.
Brain fart on my part. Total screw up. Ignore my stupidity. Yes, you will have to remove barrel, because the barrel nut threads on and off from the chamber side...

DOH, complete idiot brain spasm... edited my post above accordingly.

bsekf
03-25-2017, 09:27 AM
You could carefully index the barrel and action with witness marks.... but I still would check the HS with a gauge. If you change the recoil lug, you will want to re-bed the lug at least.

Bill

LoneWolf
03-25-2017, 10:10 AM