PDA

View Full Version : Can anyone help me?

Shooter71462
03-22-2017, 09:53 PM
I have an old Savage Model 10 chambered in 243 Win. This is an older hunting rifle that has been used plenty. I am wanting to purchase multiple barrels in different calibers and want to use the same action and scope on each. I do plan on running very good MOA optics. I have never done this before, but barrel changes seem to be a fairly simple task when viewing them on the internet. What calibers can I choose from for this particular action? Any suggestions on what barrels to look at? I do want heavy barrels as they will be used for range shooting and hunting as well. I plan on replacing the stock as well so any suggestions there are welcome. If there is already a thread on here that applies to this please direct me there, but obviously all comments are welcome. This will be my first time changing a barrel out. I have dies to load quite a few calibers so no big deal as long as the selected calibers will work with this action. I do appreciate and respect your time to respond and will always help where I can.

olddav
03-22-2017, 11:29 PM
How old is old?
As far as what fits, this may be some help. http://www.savageshooters.com/content.php?264-What-Fits-Cartridge-List-%28PDF-version%29

Lots of info in the FAQ section

big honkin jeep
03-23-2017, 10:17 AM
Any of the short action calibers that use a .473 bolt head will work just fine.

jpdown
03-23-2017, 10:44 AM
An older Savage SA rifle is most likely has a stagger feed action (magazine box is attached to bottom of action) with a blind magazine and top bolt release. Therefore any Savage SA, small shank barrel in .243, 6mmBR, .260, 6.5 Creed, 7mm08, .284 Win, 338 Federal are a few of the more common switch barrel options. Boyd's Gunstocks still offers several styles of Savage SA, SF, BM stocks that would work with the older rifle. Also check Numrich Gun Parts for a selection of discontinued factory Savage SA, SF, BM stocks.

hereinaz