PDA

View Full Version : How well does the Savage on/off brake work?

scooterf79
02-21-2017, 05:13 PM
Hey guys,
I just got a 300rum barrel from the classifieds with the on/off brake. This will be the first brake I've had. I was just curious how well they work?
Thanks!
Scooter

squirrel_slayer
02-21-2017, 05:18 PM
I have no first hand experience but I hear there pretty effective. it transfers the pain from the shoulder to the head. lol (concussion which could lead to headache)

scooterf79
02-21-2017, 05:25 PM
Lol...I figured that might be the case. The way the holes are all over I won't have to time it...[emoji106]

brownb56
02-21-2017, 05:41 PM
They work but I am not impressed. The bore on the brake is oversized when compared to other brakes. Allowing too much gas to leave straight out the muzzle instead of forcing it out the ports.

Sent from my SM-A9100 using Tapatalk

big honkin jeep
02-21-2017, 10:03 PM
I have several including a 300RUM and love them. They do make a great deal of difference in recoil (and noise) especially on long action and magnum rifles.
Just be aware if you shoot anything smaller than a full grown Godzilla with a full power .300 RUM 180gr sirocco bonded, you'll have nothing more a leather sack full of purple mush to show for it.
Again I absolutely love the Savage factory adjustable (AK) brakes and wish they would sell them threaded 5/8x24 for use on their suppressor ready rigs.

gbflyer
02-22-2017, 12:30 AM
They work but I am not impressed. The bore on the brake is oversized when compared to other brakes. Allowing too much gas to leave straight out the muzzle instead of forcing it out the ports.

My experience also.

I took one off of a .338 Win Mag barrel. Measured .375. Harrells recommends .020 over on the ones they sell.

Yes, it worked, but not as well as it could have. Be that as it may, it's a cool idea.

RustyShackle
02-22-2017, 12:46 AM