PDA

View Full Version : Scope for .243

Mr. Snerdley
08-19-2010, 05:37 AM
Hello,

This is my first post. I have a .243 Savage package gun that I bought at Wal Mart. It had the cheap Simmons 3x9 power scope that I figured I would use on my .22 and get a good scope for the .243. Actually, the Simmons scope didn't seem to be that bad, but I know there are much better ones but for a .22 it surely would be good enough, is this correct? Also, I know this question has been asked numerous times, but what would be a good scope for the .243. I am not looking for the finest optics, just want a good, dependable scope that will not be ruined by recoil and will hold its zero. I have been doing a lot of reading on this forum and, this is just my opinion, it seems to me if you spend $215-$250 on a Bushnell, Nikon or Weaver scope it will get the job done. If a person would run across a special on any of these scopes you probably would be satisfied, is this correct? I am just an amateur and would be very happy if I could get the rifle to shoot in an inch or inch and a half consistently. It actually would do this with the Simmons scope, but I don't know for how long.

Thanks for any replies.

rjtfroggy
08-19-2010, 06:44 AM
Right now Simmons is running a special on the AETEC 2.8-10 and for the price it is a good deal.I have an older one on my mod.11 243 and would not change it,glass is clear,it is IR model so it is nice in low light,it didn't cost an arm and leg to buy so I don't have to worry about banging it up when hunting.Now if it was for a precision target gun then I would be looking at a good Nikon or maybe one of the Vortex scopes.

powderburn
08-19-2010, 07:08 AM