PDA

View Full Version : Shotgun Steven model 37 .410 shotgun?

pdog06
08-17-2010, 10:47 PM
I got a line on what sounds like a pretty clean and nice Stevens model 37 shotgun(single-shot, bolt action, .410). It's also pretty cheap, but dont know if theres anything I should know about them.

I am curious what these are worth in very good condition, and are they even worth having? Any help is appreciated. I know they arent a collectors gun or anything, but if they were junk I wont waste my time and money.

To be honest I dont really need it(sound familiar :D), but I thought it may be a good gun to use to take my kids small gaming. I wouldnt have much in it, it only hold one shell at a time, and if they drop it and break it I aint out much. (I have an old 870 wingmaster 20ga that my Grandfather gave me that was his dads main rabbit gun(and was the gun my Grandfather used when him and I went squirrel hunting years ago), and I wanted to use it with my kids, but my Grandfather passed away yesterday morning and I dont think I can use that gun for a while).

TIA for the info.

Eric in NC
08-18-2010, 05:09 PM
There are several similar ones (and I can't remember which is which - 37, 39, 51 etc.) - is that one of the ones with a bolt mounted cocking piece? Does it have a safety? If I remember right, some of them have external cocking pieces and no real safety (like many of the old single shot 22s - hold the cocking piece, pull the trigger and let it down gently if you don't want to shoot right away).

Keep that in mind when you check it out (if you want it as a kids gun). Also, some of them I have seen don't eject well - don't know if that is just years of gunk that could be cleaned out or a common part failure. Numrich does have a lot of parts for them though.

If it is in great shape, I would say $75 or so would be a fair price, I would try for $50 though.