PDA

View Full Version : Revamping my 111 .300 Win Mag

haulinbass08
01-30-2017, 01:42 PM
Gents, first time posting here, I've got some training and experience in LR shooting and am actually wanting to build/rebuild my 111 into my long range/tactical rifle.
A new stock is first because I require a shorter pull stock to fit me comfortably. Not quite sure which one it will be but the McMillian is looking awful nice.
Secondly, I want/need to replace the barrel with a heavier contour barrel. I'm not sure which one to get as my main requirement is that it can be threaded for a suppressor.
Is a varmint contour from Shilen going to work or do I need to go to their bull barrel?
I've shot the Remington 700 SPS tactical in the past and from everything I can figure it is basically a varmint contour unlike the M24 which uses a true Bull barrel contour.
Not sure if there truly is THAT much difference in the barrel performance from varmint to bull but want to get beat performance for my money...

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

SageRat Shooter
01-30-2017, 02:36 PM
HB,

Had a similar dilemma myself not too long ago. I'm building a 260 rem using a Criterion Varmint Barrel. I asked the same question, Varmint or Bull. Some of the other guys on here told me this: take a pair of calipers and open them up about .17. That is about the difference in contour between the Criterion Bull and their Varmint... (at the muzzle) There's barely a hair's width difference, But the bull is about 1.5 lbs heavier. The Varmint will be sufficient for anything you'll probably want to do.

haulinbass08
01-30-2017, 02:52 PM
Ok then my next question is, should I buy an off the shelf McMillian or Choate stock or have the barrel tunnel formed to match the barrel profile precisely minus what is needed to free float? IIRC the McMilliam are designed to fit "most" varmint profiles, I just don't want it to look like a one size fits all stock if you know what I mean.

SageRat Shooter
01-30-2017, 03:05 PM