PDA

View Full Version : Problem with 110E

dmac1392
01-14-2017, 07:07 PM
I picked up a 110E 7mm Rem Mag from a local gun show today. It has a Boyd's thumb hole stock with no access for the clip. making it a single shot. Owner said it's never been fired. I'm new to rifles so I'm not sure what to search for to correct my problem.
i got home and dropped a spent cartridge in and tried closing the bolt.
it jammed and I was unable to close the bolt. Appears that the bolt will not slide far enough forward.
I compared this rifle to my brothers Tikka (same caliber) and it looks to me like the casing does not seat all the way. Hopefully my description makes sense and that I didn't just learn an expensive lesson.

keeki
01-14-2017, 07:13 PM
It's a blind mag, and I'm thinking the front action screw is too long and the bolthead is hitting it

keeki
01-14-2017, 07:16 PM
Will the bolt close without a round in it

dmac1392
01-14-2017, 08:19 PM
Will the bolt close without a round in it

Yes. It closes and seems to function fine without a round.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

dmac1392
01-14-2017, 08:20 PM
It's a blind mag, and I'm thinking the front action screw is too long and the bolthead is hitting it

I will search for that.
Thx.

keeki
01-14-2017, 08:46 PM
Sounds like a headspace problem then

RustyShackle
01-14-2017, 10:36 PM
If the fired case is from a rifle with "more" headspace or a slightly larger throat, then the fired brass very well could jam, while having perfectly acceptable headspace.

dmac1392
01-14-2017, 11:35 PM
If the fired case is from a rifle with "more" headspace or a slightly larger throat, then the fired brass very well could jam, while having perfectly acceptable headspace.

Learning more by the minute.
Thx

keeki
01-15-2017, 12:35 AM
Ya, I read that wrong. I thought he was trying to chamber an un shot load

ninner
01-15-2017, 12:50 AM
How far back is the bolt when it binds?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

dmac1392
01-15-2017, 01:26 AM