PDA

View Full Version : Reloading Press Advice

Pages : [1] 2

Cyber
01-03-2017, 06:55 PM
Sooo, I traded my brother in law a compound bow and accessories for all of his reloading supplies/equipment. I got the much better end of the deal imo but he thinks he is done reloading anyway. I got both an RCBS Rock Chucker and a Lee Classic Turret along with scales, powder, bullets, various brass, primers, powder feeders, dies, etc, etc. Anyway, my question since I'm still new to reloading is. Do I need both of these presses or would it be a better investment to sell one and get some dies or other accessories or keep both. I'm going to reload .45acp, 5.56, .30.30, and 6.5 creedmoor. The 6.5 creedmoor would be my only competition load.

slurpin dog
01-03-2017, 07:25 PM
I would for sure keep the Rock Chucker, it will serve you well.

243LPR
01-03-2017, 07:26 PM
If you do alot of pistol shooting you'd be better off with a progressive press and save the single stages for rifle loading. RockChucker is solid,not sure about the Lee.

sleepy
01-03-2017, 07:45 PM
The Rockchucker is a good single stage.
Gonna be hard to beat a Dillon for a progressive.

Cyber
01-03-2017, 08:04 PM
The more I read about both presses and you guys have just confirmed for me that both presses are solid and should be kept. Thanks for the advice. I agree sleepy I think the dillon 550b is my pipe dream for the distant future.

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk

Rick_W
01-03-2017, 08:39 PM
As said - keep them both.

That LEE turret press will allow you to crank out some ammo for plinking and might just surprise you with accuracy.

chetc
01-03-2017, 09:57 PM
As said - keep them both.

That LEE turret press will allow you to crank out some ammo for plinking and might just surprise you with accuracy.

hi Rick, i agree the Lee press will surprise you, that new Lee classic with the cast iron base is one massive HD press

Chet