PDA

View Full Version : First time out with my Savage 12FCV

M1ke
11-28-2016, 12:33 PM
I finally finished piecing together my "budget blaster," a 12FCV .223 in a Choate Tactical stock. I splurged a bit on mounts (Seekins rings and base) and the scope (Sightron SIII FFP 6x24x50). After getting everything dialed in I started shooting for groups. My best 5 shot 100 yard group of the day can be just covered up by a dime. And this is shooting out of the box Black Hills 69 grain match ammo! Most groups were under an inch. Needless to say, I'm quite impressed with this Savage! To have it shooting this well with production match ammo and only 50 rounds down the barrel has made me a believer.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/i4s4633ejngbkhz/dimeuncoveredresized.jpg?raw=1https://www.dropbox.com/s/uxap6m6btkxhv33/dimecoveredresized.jpg?raw=1

jpx2rk
11-28-2016, 06:48 PM
Congrats, but you need to post pics of the gun too. We like pictures here. :rolleyes:

drybean
11-28-2016, 07:39 PM
It only gets better

M1ke
11-28-2016, 11:55 PM
Congrats, but you need to post pics of the gun too. We like pictures here. :rolleyes:

That's the one thing I forgot to get a pic of!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Zero333
11-29-2016, 10:28 AM
Some people hope they can throw a handload together half ass and think it will outshoot some of the Match factory ammo.

BlackHills 223rem 69gr are extremely accurate and your rifle is a good example how even factory barrels are not that bad as long as the human pulling the trigger knows what they're doing and the rifle is fed good ammunition.

Nice shooting and looking forward to seeing the pics of your rifle.

M1ke
12-05-2016, 01:10 PM