PDA

View Full Version : Newbie w/ 110 --- 30-06 misfire question

ABL1111
11-20-2016, 09:40 PM
Hi all - newbie here.

I believe this is a late 50's Savage 110 in 30-06, that is exceptionally clean and been in my family for 45+ years. It was not fired much for the last 20 years but that has changed since my Dad gave it to me. I started hunting with it about 3 years ago. This year, at the range, the first shot misfired, I didn't think much of it. The next (3) shots fired and were accurate as hell. I put it away. I went deer hunting this past Saturday, Mr Buck popped into my world and the first shot misfired ! I had a second chance and dropped him, BUT - I believe I have an issue.

I'm very handy and have taken apart several older guns my Dad has given me to make sure they were clean and firing well. I have never taken apart a bolt action, but am confident with good direction, that I can successfully do so and adjust and or replace what might need it.

Where should I start this endeavor ?

243LPR
11-20-2016, 09:53 PM
Sounds like the bolt needs stripped and thoroughly cleaned. Also check firing pin protrusion. Handloads or factory ammo?

ABL1111
11-21-2016, 08:15 AM
It's Remington core-lokt 150 grain.
I'm assuming the bolt is spring loaded. I tried to locate clear directions/ photos to do this but wasn't successful. Any insight to do this properly would be appreciated...

Slowpoke Slim
11-21-2016, 08:54 AM
If the gun was stored for that many years, and perhaps it was stored "cocked", then there's a good chance that the firing pin spring may be tired. It wouldn't hurt to disassemble the bolt, clean it thoroughly and possibly replace the spring.

ABL1111
11-21-2016, 09:39 AM
I jumped on YouTube and saw (2) disassembly vids for the bolt. One thing that was concerning is that the thin washer that is near the bolt head/ front baffle/ bolt body is in different locations in the (2) vids;