PDA

View Full Version : 300 Wm rebuild

Ironhorse191
09-12-2016, 09:56 PM
I'm a rookie to Savage rifles so I guess this could be considered a rookie question. I have 2 lefthand 300WM rifles. One the serial number is 128132 and the other is serial number F863356. The older one is not a shrouded bolt so I could rebarrel. What I want to do is rebarrel one to 338WM. Now I have found out the 338 is the parent case to the 300WM, the max sammi pressure is the same between the two from what I have found. The bolt should be useable between the two. Now my question is this feasibly a good build and I should use the newer rifle? The older one is a 110 and the newer one is a 111. Has anyone done such a build or is there some fact I am overlooking. I know the 300WM will take any game around but I am looking for a good bear gun. Any suggestions would be appreciated

handirifle
09-13-2016, 12:05 AM
Not sure what you mean by "shrouded bolt" but either rifle will work fine for your swap. I converted an old flat top 110I have from 30-06 to 338WM, for a while. I didn't even need to change magazines, neither will you. I had to swap bolt heads, but you will not.

All you will need is barrel and headspace gauges. The same gauges will work if you ever want to swap it back too. Also will need (if you do not have them already) is action vice or barrel vice, and barrel nut wrench.

Have fun.

RC20
09-13-2016, 02:42 PM
If I am reading right the shrouded bolt is a push feed with ejector inside it.

I would go with the push feed. It has better far better expanding gas protection (rupture case and blow back)

While not normal I did see the results of one blown up this last year, never found caused, reloads and gun being tested by a gun shop employee.

No idea why it did not fully control the release (blew receiver top off) but at least the damage was lost teeth only, not eyes.

Ironhorse191
09-13-2016, 02:43 PM