PDA

View Full Version : 111G long Action .223

SDMike
09-11-2016, 07:57 PM
Hello SavageShooters,

My Neighbor has an older stock 111G .223 long action gun that he never shoots. I'm completely new to Savage and have a few questions.

I will wind up replacing the barrel, stock, trigger, and add a scope in hopes of using it as a varmint hunter up to 600 yards max.

Also, his gun has no external magazine, would it be hard to change it over?

From what I read, there are some twists with the long action .223, Is it harder to find parts for them? or upgrade them?

Also, if you could please recommend a book or youtube series on DIY gunsmithing Savage weapons I would be very interested.

Lastly - Shot in the dark here, but because it is a "long Action" rifle could I later re-barrel and bolt to a bigger cartridge down the road?

Thanks for your time,

SDMike

Edited to correct auto-correct (that's my story and I'm sticking to it) of Salvage to Savage!

geargrinder
09-11-2016, 08:20 PM
Most likely, the magazine opening on the bottom of the action is only cut for a short action. So, without removing metal to open it up, you will have limited choices for bottom metal and will be limited to short action rounds as a repeater.

I have a similar rifle that started out as a 308 in a long action. I just run it single shot. It's been a bunch of things from 223 up to a 338 Edge. It's currently a 28 Nosler.

I prefer to work with long actions. The action screw spacing has never changed. All long action bolt heads and firing pins will interchange with each other. Stocks will interchange, especially since you have an older long action.

btw, we're fans of Savage and tend to be a bit sensitive when people call them Salvage. Hope that was just a typo. :)

RC20
09-12-2016, 04:33 PM
Ok, Will go with geargrinder on the Salvage thing but if it happens again......:blah: