PDA

View Full Version : Truing a target action

alphapygmy
09-06-2016, 10:17 PM
I've never trued a Savage before but I'm wondering with how they're put together with a barrel nut if it's better to true them a little different. I figured to make a tight fitting threaded bar with a stub on the end to indicate off of and set it up off the action threads, not the centerline of the bolt bore. I also don't want to enlarge the factory threads so I can use pre-chambered barrels if needed. Thoughts?

Robinhood
09-06-2016, 10:54 PM
dp.

Robinhood
09-06-2016, 10:56 PM
If you do that you need to re drill and tap your scope base holes on centerline with your barrel. Think about it. Your scope is in one line or axis and your barrel(bullet path) is in another.

You need one axis for everything if you want best results.

When you chase threads you want to just take enough off to remove the run-out . Unless you want custom threads

gbflyer
09-07-2016, 12:34 AM
Being an amateur, I've just machined a truing bar that threads into the receiver and fits very tightly in the bolt bore. I leave enough on each end to turn the bar between centers and true the action face.

Again, not a pro but I've been around one a bit. I don't recall ever messing with the scope mount holes.

Robinhood
09-07-2016, 07:25 AM
Your way centers the rear bolt bolt raceway and the barrel threads. Much better method. You can tell if your method works by shooting targets at 50 100 and 200 yards out. if the point of aim keeps you centered on the target you're good to go. .002 off at the action face can mean as much as .040 off at the end of the barrel. Those numbers could get you 6" off at 100 yrds if your scope base is aligned with the centerline of the action. Have you ever heard about anyone being off target after they sight in at 25 or 50 yds then go to 100 or 200yds? Could be a bent barrel or it could be something wrong with the action face.