PDA

View Full Version : Pre accutrigger savage 11 questions

Cmonsta
07-22-2016, 10:48 PM
I tried searching and did not find what I am looking for. I hope I did not miss it. I am currently looking at a Savage 11 in 308 and can see it does not have an accutrigger. I'm assuming before they made it? Anyway, my main question is how does this effect things when I am trying to customize it? I plan on upgrading the stock and barrel at a minimum. Will the same stocks made today for the pre accutrigger models? Also, how hard is putting a new trigger in? And reccomendations? I have zero experience at gun smithing or building a rifle, but need to start somewhere right?

Cmonsta
07-22-2016, 10:55 PM
I forgot to mention. That rifle will be $300 with a cheap scope. I also have the option to buy a 11 VT for $420 no scope. Would the heavy barrel and accutrigger be worth the extra $120 in your opinion?

foxx
07-22-2016, 11:21 PM
^^^Depends... How close are you to Cabelas? The 12FV is a same price new. I prefer it even though it is blind mag. ALso, you could sell a NEW take-off barrel varmint barrel if you like for a lot more than a used one. Keep in mind the VT has a cheap "Axis style" detachable mag with a plastic clasp.

Also, when buying used, you gotta assume "barrel burners' like 22-250 and .243 are burned out. If the VT is a .308 it probably has a lot of life in it yet.

$300 is fair for the other one. Sharp Shooter Supply "Competition Trigger" is a nice but it might be too low poundage for hunting (1.5 pounds???) Rifle Basix Sav-1 is about the same price and both are easy enough to install.

ALso, the model 12 from Cabelas MIGHT have a $100 rebate offer coming up in August. Won't know for a while, of course.