PDA

View Full Version : Savage 99: I need lots of help on my 99E Mad Dog

Fjold
07-19-2010, 10:42 PM
From reading 22 pages of posts here, I figured out that I have a mix master 99e. Currently it has the birch pistol grip stock with the plastic buttplate, impressed checkering, etc and the forearm is a muddy brown that doesn't match the butt. I can't make out the date code on the lever boss, even using a 10X lighted magnifying glass and my reading glasses.

I want to replace the screws for the forearm and get a metal buttplate for it, where's a good source for parts? Numrich?

I'd like to get it looking good so I was going to restock it but wanted to make sure that what I order will fit it correctly.

Here's the gun:
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v214/Fjold/Guns/DSC01065.jpg

Here's the forearm:
This looks short to me. Are all the forearm bosses in the same location? I'd like to get a schnabel forearm but this also looks like it has a lightweight barrel, is this an issue with restocking?
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v214/Fjold/Guns/DSC01066.jpg

Fjold
07-20-2010, 08:14 PM
No love?

bushrat
07-20-2010, 11:48 PM
Your rifle looks like most of the 99e's that I seen. You can order wood but might be stuck with model e wood. I think the plastic but plate is standard I doubt another model will fit. You can order custom wood from Boyds rifle stocks or Richards Micro-fit and maybe get different styles. You could make a metal butt plate if you take your time and go slow. If you can find someone with a 60s stock, not a featherweight, try changing the wood and see how it fits. You can try the same thing with older EG wood, you don't have much to lose.

Fjold
07-21-2010, 12:45 AM
Thanks, On the fore arm, will all the wood shapes fit as long as I get it for the 22" lightweight barrel?

Eric in NC
07-22-2010, 08:39 PM
http://www.gunstocksinc.com/

Far from "drop in" fit but they do have dimensioned drawings and you can call and get help etc.