PDA

View Full Version : Older 12 single vs new PTA

Randyc
06-02-2016, 04:28 PM
I have an older 95-2002 12 single shot action. PTG bolt lug, SSS comp trigger on the way, Bison barrel and MDT LSS chassis.
Looking to increase accuracy , would I benefit from going to one of the new target action in RBLP ?
i am looking for opinions, everyone has one open to all, and thanks for any and all help and input.

Randyc
06-02-2016, 07:21 PM
Or can I gain as much from truing the action and barrel nut I already have?

Robinhood
06-02-2016, 08:45 PM
Who is the manufacturer of the barrel? do you have an aftermarket recoil lug?

Randyc
06-02-2016, 09:36 PM
Ok Robinhood,
the barrel is machined by Bison gun works, I have a .375 machined recoil lug. I still pull a factory trigger and get 1minute groups pretty consistently . I am new to long range and I have hit targets out to 1100 yards. I am pretty satisified with my model 12 single shot. On the other hand I have a .284 barrel ordered and really like the looks and idea of the RBLP PTA. But I can live with what I have if the PTA will be no better than the 12 with some work done.

Robinhood
06-02-2016, 11:03 PM
Is your action a large shank? Bison cuts chambers if I understand that business. The barrels are probably made by Green Mountain. Who chambered the blank for your 284? What you have with a quality barrel, nut and recoil lug you should do everything you need to do. If you had time for someone to true the action face that would be grand.

Randyc
06-02-2016, 11:28 PM
My action is standard or small shank,
Bison will be chamfering it when it gets to him, still couple weeks out.
I am looking for a time and true from SSS, but don't like what I hear on schedule and wait time.
I have a friend that builds Harley's and owns a machine shop. Not sure he will fool with a small job like an action.
I will be playing with action screw torque and micro tuning my load recipe.