PDA

View Full Version : bullet choice/ Nosler?

Texas Solo
05-18-2016, 06:01 PM
I've been shooting Berger 80gr VLD's for a few years. Always a good performer for me at 600yds. 28" Shilen SM 1/7
However, with my .223 Wylde chamber, I have very little bullet in the case when loading to .005" off the lands (which is where it shoots best)
I researched and decided to try the Berger 82gr Match. It has a Tangent ogive which reaches the lands sooner. This achieved my goal of more bullet in the case, but the longer bearing surface required me to load down to only 2600fps @ max of Varget. (80 VLD's are at 3020) From my 100yd zero, that was 17 MOA come up @ 600. NO GOOD! Bullets were lobbing to the target with no consistency, lousy groups and a lot more wind drift. (I got a whole box if anyone needs them)

VLD's are hard to get now. I'm researching alternate bullets. Hornady says their 80gr has a Tangent ogive, so it would be the same as the 82 Berger.

"It is very likely that we had ran this to a higher velocity. However we run this in a 50 fps. intravels. This means we may have been able to get close to the 2650 but not all the way so we had to back this down to the 2600 fps. You may be able to work this up higher in your rifle, but this bullet very well could have more bearing surface than you current bullet you are loading. This would have a Tangent ogive."

I can't get a reply from Nosler about their 80 Custom Comp bullet. I like the price of them and they're available. But I don't care to the waste $$$ on another bullet that won't fly.
If anyone has some Nosler 80gr CC's, I could really use a bullet base to ogive measurement, and maybe an OAL on the bullet itself.

So this is where I'm at. Almost out of the 80 VLD's and need to find something ASAP. Any thoughts would be helpful.

LongRange
05-18-2016, 07:52 PM