PDA

View Full Version : Model 10T

hcaroselli
05-01-2016, 01:59 PM
Hello - I am a new forum member and this is my first post, other than my introductory post. I have a question/issue with a Model 10T and if this has been raised before please point me toward those threads.

The Model 10T was only available at Cabela's as far as I know. I bought mine a little over 1 year ago. It is a .308 and has everything I was looking for. I am new to the sport so I thought this would be a great rifle to eventually get into longer distance shooting. The range where I go now has a maximum distance of 200 yards. My rifle has a Vortex scope and the ammo I have been using varies from surplus bulk to match grade.

My problem is that my rifle is wildly inaccurate and inconsistent. FWIW, I have a CZ .22 and I can consistently shoot ¾ - 1 inch groups at 50 yards. Other shooters have used the Savage, all of whom are much more capable and experienced than I am; that is if you consider a 20 something, recently retired from the USMC as a Scout Sniper, more capable; and others as well. Once we finally get it on paper we cannot duplicate results. To date we have tried at 50 yards and 100 yards. The scope has been sent to Vortex and they cleaned it and tested it and said it was fine. As mentioned, different ammo does not change things. The rifle is currently with, the aforementioned Marine. He and his Dad are more than competent with gunsmithing tasks, and so far they have not found anything that might account for this anomaly. When they re-assemble the rifle it will be test fired. I am hoping for the best and planning for the worst. If the rifle still does not shoot what can I do next? Will Savage replace it after all this time? As you guys probably know, there are many YouTube videos showing this same rifle easily making 500 - 1,000 yards shots.

I am open to suggestions.
Thanks.

Process_engineer
05-01-2016, 02:05 PM