PDA

View Full Version : Vinegar, Water Salt dishsoap mixture to clean brass

Pages : [1] 2

cica_trix
03-27-2016, 12:05 PM
Hi I am new to reloading. I having been cleaning brass using the 1 cup Vinegar, 4 cup water, 1 tablespoon of dishsoap, tablespoon of salt.
I leave about 20 cases of 308 brass in about 5-10 mins. Mix is it around a few minutes in. Long story short it seems to work pretty well, and clean the brass nicely.

Should I be concern about the salt, and its effect on the brass or the gun. Would the salt be corrosive to the rifle?

Can this mixture be bad for the brass long term or the rifle?

Thank you!

Process_engineer
03-27-2016, 12:22 PM
I have been using this minus the salt. I've been putting in a 1/2 cup baking soda instead. Works well like you said

schnyd112
03-27-2016, 01:27 PM
I may try this to help with cleaning primer pockets. I tumble my brass before I re-size and decap. Then I have to manually clean each primer pocket with a steel brush and a small flathead screwdriver to get the stubborn stuff. I think I will mix up a batch, pour a half inch into a Tupperware and just set the cases on the head. I will update after I try it.

The same concoction can be used to make tarnished pennies (most coins I believe) bright and shiny. The only issue is if the salt is not dissolved, ends up on the penny and it eats away a small amount of copper leaving an imprint of the grain of salt.

Dennis
03-27-2016, 05:19 PM
You need a baking soda rinse after cleaning with vinegar. Vinegar does great, but you need to neutralize it after cleaning.

cica_trix
03-27-2016, 05:45 PM
Thanks for the tips guys.
@Dennis, do you mean clean the brass again in a new solution with just baking soda? Or Use baking soda + Vinegar solution instead of salt?

Robinhood
03-27-2016, 06:44 PM
Vinegear is around 5-15 % acetic acid. Dennis is suggesting a mixture of baking soda and water as a rinse to neutrilize the residual acid as a general precaution.

bigedp51
03-27-2016, 07:18 PM