PDA

View Full Version : how accurate should a .223 LRPV be at 400 yards?

King Ghidora
07-08-2010, 11:31 AM
I just wondered what the upper limit for accuracy is with this gun. Yes I do have one and it seems to shoot very well but I'm a newbie when it comes to shooting that distance. I shot a 5 inch group at 400 yards and I wondered if that was close to the limit or if it will be able to do even better. I'm not complaining. I'm very impressed with this rifle. I'm not new to shooting by any means but most of my shooting has been done with rimfires with some centerfires mixed in. To be honest I never expected to be able to shoot this well with no more practice than I've had. This rifle is very impressive to this newbie.

Balljoint
07-08-2010, 11:43 AM
I'm not an expert, need more info on what you are shooting such as factory load or hand load if hand load need bullet size, power load, twist rate of barrel, length of barrel, is rifle a bolt gun or semi auto.

Peter_Kirch
07-08-2010, 11:53 AM
i'd say that's not too shabby. Are you using reloads? Also was it windy out the day you shot a 5" group?

King Ghidora
07-08-2010, 12:30 PM
There was about a 5 mph wind at most. It was late in the evening and we always get a calm period at that time of day here. The wind did pick up to about 10 mph and my group got a little wider. I never got past about 8" though. I was using factory Winchester 55 gr. ammo. From the shooting I've done this rifle seems to shoot everything well except Wolf. But I haven't had enough time to figure out what is actually the best. This was only the 4th time shooting it at distance. The first time I had to zero the scope without a spotter. The second time I shot pretty well hitting a gallon jug pretty often. The third time I had about a 20 mph wind and my shots were all over the place.