PDA

View Full Version : Centerfire Savage 219 25-20

Strlsknght
12-21-2015, 12:26 AM
Hello, I just acquired a Savage 219 25-20 and I'm looking for information. I have no experience with this type of ammunition or rifle.

Is there anything special required for the maintenance of this rifle? Is the ammunition easily available or even relevant now?

I've tried doing several searches for the 219 as topics in these forums and haven't found much of anything. Any information you can give me or direct me to would be much appreciated.

Mad Dog
12-21-2015, 03:15 PM
What type of info are you looking for?

The 219 in 25-20 is a very rare caliber in that model to come across. It will draw a premium price as well. I own one in 25-20 myself. Ammo up here in Canada runs me around $60 a box of 50. It always seems to me that some parts of the U.S. seem to have plenty of 25-20 and others seem to have none. Not real sure why this is. I'd try your local gunshops and if you can't find any there try a bigger store like Cabela's and order some online.

No special maintenance aside from what you would keep up with on any other firearm you own. Light oiling on the metal and maybe some Old West Snake Oil on the furniture once a year.

Strlsknght
12-21-2015, 08:00 PM
Thank you. I'm more versed in bolt and pump action (and taking things waaaay to far apart to clean)

I've read that the barrel is interchangeable with the 220 line, but I'm baffled as to how the gun comes apart. I cannot find instructions anywhere. I'm also not sure if it's a 219b? I'm clueless.

Strlsknght
12-21-2015, 08:03 PM
Good god! $49.95 for 20?!

Mad Dog
12-22-2015, 09:21 AM
Ya, it's up there in the price dept, I know a guy that shoots 25-20 a lot but he reloads.

Pretty easy to take it down. Set the buttstock between your feet, with the forearm facing away from you grab the top half of it and pull it away from you, should just pop off. Then open the action and slide the barrel off the hinge pin.

PetahW