PDA

View Full Version : quality of non-accustock stock on 116?

jdm-v35
12-05-2015, 09:16 PM
New Savage owner here and I have a 116 XP in 338 WM. I am considering changing to the MDT LSS chassis, but not sure if its worth it or not. Rifle will be mainly used for hunting but maybe occasional fun range time. Won't be putting a ton of use on it though.

I was wondering how the quality of the OEM non-accustock stock is? is it reliable? I would like to use AICS mags, so debating either keeping the OEM stock and buying the AICS mag adapter, or going LSS chassis.

Any info/opinions on it would be appreciated. Thanks!

big honkin jeep
12-06-2015, 01:31 AM
I've been using my favorite 116FLCSAK in 30-06 since the mid 1990s with the plain old factory synthetic without issue.
It has seen in the thousands of rounds over the decades and still shoots the lights out.
Best group was 10 shots into .446 with hand loads from sand bags at 100 yards.
I love to tinker as much as the next guy but when a rifle shoots like that I aint messing with it.
I have a couple of more bedded into factory synthetics that are outstanding shooters as well.
Though maybe they don't have the cool factor I'm a big fan of the factory stocks even if I have to bed them or relieve them a little.
They do the job for me and I have found them to be Of reasonable weight, economical, sturdy, long lasting, and reliable.

jdm-v35
12-06-2015, 01:52 AM
thanks for the response! I am more in question of their reliability as many people told me theyre just cheap plastic. I dont mind it at all as long as it functions great. I may look into the CDI DBM instead. I would just rather be able to use 5 round AICS mags if possible.

jdm-v35
12-06-2015, 02:34 AM
So since I have a non-accustock with the molded bottom metal magwell(plastic) there is no DBM option. My only option is to go with a chassis as by the time I buy an accustock and DBM it would cost more than the chassis.

Richard
12-06-2015, 06:55 PM