PDA

View Full Version : accuracy with handloads

bythebook
11-26-2015, 10:11 AM
I have been loading since 1965 and countless number of guns. Yesterday I saw good example of something I have seen a couple of times but not often. My Son brought his 308 pump over to shoot it in, this gun always shot spot on and 1/2 to 3/4 MOA at least. When we tried it 2 to 3 inch groups was the best we could get. We checked everything and could not find anything wrong. I looked at the ammo and asked him when I had loaded it, he said at least 3 yrs ago. I took 5 rounds back into the load room and adjusted the seating stem about 1 turn deeper and ran the rounds through it and I could feel it pop loose. We shot them and it put 5 into a little less than 3/4 group at 100 yds. The bullets and case had formed a chemical bond, I have heard about this and experenced it a couple of times but not lately.

LongRange
11-26-2015, 10:35 AM
The exact reason why i dont load large amounts of ammo or let loaded ammo sit more than a week or so. Several of the guys at our comps load for the year right before the season starts but seat their bullets .010 long and then run them through the seater right before a comp.I usaully load the night before.

yobuck
11-26-2015, 11:15 AM
It can be a serious issue if max loads are involved.
Especially with pump guns.

Jaysee
11-27-2015, 11:48 AM
Why does this not affect factory loads.. that could at factory for a while, then out for delivery overseas, then be sat on a shelf for months?

LongRange
11-27-2015, 12:41 PM
Why does this not affect factory loads.. that could at factory for a while, then out for delivery overseas, then be sat on a shelf for months?

this is a good question and im not sure but im going to guess because all the components are clean and free of oils,sizing lube,soot or other crud in the necks from reloading.

Jaysee
11-27-2015, 02:21 PM