PDA

View Full Version : Savage Model 10 P-PR .308 Base and Rings

Jakemore71
11-23-2015, 01:14 PM
Long-Range noob here building first LR rifle. Got my hands on a Savage Model 10 P-SR, and Vortex Viper PST 6-24x50 FFP and MRAD to top it off with. I am now researching rings and mount for this set up, and my question is this. I've read a 20MOA base and .87 rings will work. Will that work with heavy barrel and oversized bolt handle as far as clearance? Also, throw me your ideas on mounts and rings. I like high quality bang for the buck. Probably even classify me as a buy once, cry one and eat bologna sandwiches the rest of the month type guy. Thanks for your help in advance.

Robinhood
11-23-2015, 03:37 PM
The additional height of the tactical base will give you extra room for the 50mm bell so in my opinion you are good to go. You can buy a less expensive base like Weaver or EGW and be very happy. Bedding them to the action with a release agent on the action helps. Or you can go with something like a Ken Farrell. They have an extreme recoil model called the G-Force (not for Target actions) if your concerned about that. I like QD rings for storage reasons but not every one agrees. Warne, TPS Vortex or APA are good and if you want to go high end Nightforce, Seekins or Spuhr. It never hurts to lap with some very fine to see what you got.

Jakemore71
11-23-2015, 03:57 PM
I've run across the Ken Farrell more then a few times in my research. I'll research a little more on those. Have read good things about the TPS too, as far as bang for the buck. Lapping will happen on down the line too. I'm confident with any task. Just need to research a little.
I'm also a fan of QD mounts. Own an American Defense mount I love on one of my rifles. Are QD mounts used often in a long range application? Also, does the .87 leave plenty of room for a flip cover on my rifle? Thanks for your time.

Robinhood
11-23-2015, 04:46 PM