PDA

View Full Version : Got to thinking again 6BR vs 6ppc in slow powder

82boy
06-13-2010, 03:16 PM
OK guys heres one for you. In a 6PPC when using a slower powder like H4895 great success has been reported by opening up the flash holes. This is a good combo, and has a few wins behind it. Why don't they use a magnum primer with the slower powder like the 6mm Br guys?

Now when shooting the 6mm Br, most times people load slower powders like Varget (Which is close in burn rate to H4895.) Why don't they open up the flash holes, like the PPC guys? Many have reported great success with 450 CCI magnum primers or the Remington 7 1/2 which my understanding is it is also a magnum primer, could this be to accommodate the small flash holes?

Am I missing something here?

GaCop
06-14-2010, 05:48 AM
I'm somewhat new to 6mm BR shooting and anxiously await an answer too.

82boy
06-14-2010, 10:54 AM
Wow, I am kind of surprised, 34 views and no answer.
Maybe I need to rephrase the question.

What is the theory of opening up the flash holes on a PPC when using H4895 powder, or what does this accomplish?
Why is not the same theory used on the BR cartridge? The two cartridges are similar in design, and close in case capacity.

Eric in NC
06-14-2010, 11:31 AM
Can't answer you on the BR vs. PPC but with black powder cartridges you see guys using enlarged flash holes with pistol primers and guys using standard flash holes with magnum rifle primers - both seem to have good success (of course BP is the fastest of fast powders there is but a similar situation where there are two different ways of doing about the same thing).

possum1
06-14-2010, 11:45 AM
Read's like no one know's or has any experiance on the subject. Why don't you do some testing and give us the feed-back.

82boy
06-14-2010, 12:23 PM
Read's like no one know's or has any experiance on the subject. Why don't you do some testing and give us the feed-back.