PDA

View Full Version : New Guy

Cavtrooper94
06-08-2010, 02:23 AM
Hey guys. I'm new to this forum but run on a few others. I've been shooting for quite some time but just recently bought my first Savage. I've shot Remingtons for years but when it came time to get a 338 Win Mag for Alaska I chose a Savage 116. The Remington quality has just been going down over the years and it seems that Savage is listening to shooters and taking their company in that direction. While I am very familiar with weapons, I am not intimately familiar with Savage rifles and joined this site to learn more. I am very interested in building a few of my own from scratch as I have seen alot of you do. Please tell me what I need to start researching in order to begin building my own. I would like to start with a 7mm Rem Mag with a medium heavy barrel on an A5 type stock, set up as a long range hunter. I have no knowledge of what model reciever I should start with or where I can get just an action and ect. ect....

Thanks Much guys. I hope to be on here for along time

slaroy
06-08-2010, 06:33 AM
I'm a newbie to the savage world and one of the best pieces of advice I can give is to buy a paid membership. Lots of articles, reviews, etc. Not to mention access to the classifieds. You will not regret it, although your bank accounts might.

My family is under the impression that I have some new savage disease...

rjtfroggy
06-08-2010, 06:48 AM
Welcome to the forum.

The best advice spend the $12 and become a paid member the access to all the articles and classifieds is worth the price of addmission.
As for actions basically they are all the same except there are SA,s or LA's in either SS or matte, or blued,like other manufactures.