PDA

View Full Version : Potential Savage Rifle Owner ....

Spudshooter
09-14-2015, 04:33 PM
Hi Everyone,

I hope some folks can help answer some questions regarding Savage Rifles. I am new to Rifle Hunting but not new to guns. Used shotguns since I was 12 to Dove, Rabbit, Turkey and Deer Hunt. In the 35 plus years since then I have never shot a center fire rifle, let alone hunt with one. Fast forward I now have a teen age son who wants to try rifle hunting.

So I am researching rifles and I am 90% sold on Savage but I am struggling with the fact that the clip and evidently part of the housing where the clip is inserted is plastic. Can someone share which models have plastic and which do not? On used guns is there some way to tell pre-plastic and post plastic guns/models?

My second question revolves around the gun models/features. Is there some place that lists recent savage models and the differences within them? Example I thought I had found a bargain in a Savage Model 11/111 Hunter XP Centerfire for $429 new until I found out that it does not have an adjustable trigger. But the Savage Model 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP for $529 new does have the adjustable trigger ....... Looking at the Savage website and Gunbroker it is hard to distinguish features between models.

Any suggestions on the 110 Series for Deer Hunting would be appreciated. I have decided on .243 caliber. I am no a gun purist - just functional/reliable/accurate.

Sorry if any of these questions are dumb but I am not literate in Savages and not very literate in the world of Rifles. Just for reference all of my shotguns are 30 to 50 year old Remingtons that have had zero problems so I do not look at guns often, I just hunt :) .

Thanks and best regards,

Spud ....

olddav
09-14-2015, 04:52 PM