PDA

View Full Version : Adjusting charge weight vs seating depth

NASIROKLA
08-08-2015, 06:00 PM
Im a total newbie to reloading. I just loaded my first batch of handloads. I have a 111 30-06 i was having trouble getting to shoot worth a darn with factory ammo. I was pleasantly surprised with the results. 150 ballistic tips started low and worked up to noslers website listed max charges of imr 4350 and imr 4064. 59.0 and 52.0 g respectively. Groups tightened up as the charge weight increased. Both shot the best under max charge. Both under an inch at 100. So my quesion is- should i try and increase maybe another .2 g to see if it tightens up more, maybe decrease by .2? Or should i just start tinkering with seating depth. Right now they are seated .020 off the lands. Thanks

Three44s
08-10-2015, 12:08 AM
Work down from your manual's max if you have reached that level. Use as small an increment of reduction as your patience allows for best results.

As to changing seating depth, always treat that as a "different" load and reduce your charge weight to the start and work back up watching for sweet spots.

You have to watch for pressure spikes when you alter your seating depth. Close to the lands is one area of concern and the other is caused by reducing case volume materially through deeper and deeper seating depths. In effect you are reducing case volume.

darkker
08-10-2015, 02:09 AM
You didn't mention any velocity, if you don't have a chronograph, you should NEVER match book Max loads!
Look at the warning in every manual, and on the side of your powder, it says "drop loads 10% when switching lots". So you better take their word that there are normal burning rate differences on the order of 10%. The book data doesn't tell you the lot number used, so do not assume you have the same lot.