PDA

View Full Version : Long range zeroing

powderburnz
08-05-2015, 10:18 PM
I'm new to long range shooting and just getting ready to bring my new rig to the range. I've got a mil/mil scope. Here's the reticle.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/htx1wvcjxl77pll/photo%20mar%2023%2C%206%2054%2014%20pm.png?dl=0

My question is if my intentions are to hopefully get out to 600-800yrds should I zero 5 or 6 sub-tensions above the center cross to use holdover instead of dialing?

LoneWolf
08-06-2015, 07:28 AM
If your zeroing at the range you intend to shoot at its not really a holdover.
Zero at 100yds and figure out what you elevation adjustment is. It should be the same weather you stay at zero and adjust on the reticle or dial the elevation on the turret and hold center.
I started with and SWFA SS myself. I zero at 100yds and practice shooting both with the info dialed on the turret and with holdovers. It's good to be versatile.

DrThunder88
08-07-2015, 05:00 AM
Where you zero, in terms of distance, is mainly just a reference point. All of your ballistic data will be in relation to that distance. Zero distance comes into play with point blank range, but if you're willing to work out your elevation, then that's a secondary concern.