PDA

View Full Version : Peep vs scope - opinions please

Haiku_Rodney
07-31-2015, 04:57 PM
I hunt cows, goats, pigs and axis deer on the slopes on Haleakala in Hawaii. I took the scope off one of my rifles and installed a peep sight. This is because frequently the clouds blow in and although you can "see" and animal, I can't see it in the scope. The shots I take are not very long, generally under 250 yards. One thing I do like about the peep is the light weight. The negative side is that I am not a good shot with it - I am still learning. I am considering going back to a scope. Hunting in the lava is tough and falling is not uncommon so I do not want to spend a whole lot of money. I am considering a leupold fixed power scope - either a 4 or 6.

Suggestions?

BlueDog
07-31-2015, 05:56 PM
IMHO, scope all the way. When I put my first scope on my first pellet rifle decades ago, I've been a scope only shooter since. Low light situations, longer range, my poor eyesight, higher precision... just to name a few. Of course watching my first Palma match made me feel totally inadequate and shook my head in disbelief all the next week. Pretty amazing. But I'd stick with whatever your most comfortable with. For me, it's undoubtedly a scope.

Rick_W
07-31-2015, 07:16 PM
Out past 75-100 yds - it's a scope for me.

You don't mention what specific scope you removed or the caliber of rifle, but a quality low power scope would be my choice.

A fixed 4x would be very good for all of those ranges. I believe a fixed 6x would be a little too powerful for anything under 100 yds if it's moving.

I would prefer a low power variable, something in the 2x-7x range. These will cost a little more than a fixed power scope.

And don't overlook red-dot and holographic sights. Depending on the caliber you are shooting these can be very accurate out to 200 yds and they are very fast.

Also, what is your limit for a new optic?

Haiku_Rodney
07-31-2015, 07:53 PM