PDA

View Full Version : How to protect your rifles from being stolen

Lee Davis
07-06-2015, 01:43 PM
I have some hard experience when it comes to having firearms stolen. 5 years ago, I had 2 shotguns, 4 rifles, and 5 pistols in the house. I have a workshop, and on a back shelf, I had ammo stacked up: .32 colt, 12 Guage, 303 Winchester, 7mm Remington, .22 Magnum, .22 LR, etc. Somebody came in and robbed the shop... but they also noticed the ammo while casing the place. Sometime later, I left at 8 in the morning, and returned at 8:30 to find that all my long guns were gone. I miss the 1886 Winchester takedown in .303 especially. What I learned... Never put your rifle in the corner of a room... that is the first place a thief will look. Never put your ammo out to be seen. and finally, never collect valuable guns without a security plan. Now, the pistols are ok... I guess I shall concentrate on those.

devildogandboy
07-06-2015, 01:55 PM
sorry to hear that. hope you are looking into a sturdy safe for storage.

i use to leave my guns scattered through the house thinking i would never be burglarized but each time we would go away for the weekend or vacation i was always concerned about the "GUNS". after i got my safe i was able to enjoy our outings more without the stress of gun loss. get the best you can afford!

Bruce

BlueDog
07-06-2015, 02:42 PM
A gun safe should be an upmost priority if you have more than one. Not a flimsy gun locker, a massive bolt to the floor safe. Some gun safes are modular and can be bolted together piece by piece. IF and WHEN you decide to get a safe, get one far bigger than you think you need. They fill up quick. Like DevilDog said, don't cheap out on this. Buy once, cry once, sleep tight, even on vacation!

olddav
07-06-2015, 06:43 PM
It is my belief that your first line of defense is for everyone to think there is nothing of value here. Your second line of defense is a gun safe.

Edzzed
07-06-2015, 09:46 PM